top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon

kadiatou Traore


  • Why medicine?

For me, my interest in medicine started during my 2006 and 2011 trips to Bamako, Mali (where my family is from). I was able to see the many discrepancies between healthcare in the US and healthcare in Mali and it seemed very unfair to me. One particular incident that I can still vividly remember was when a toddler accidentally tipped over a pot of hot oil onto his back and all he was given was toothpaste. Although I was young at the time, it didn’t seem right to me that that was all that was done for him. Therefore, my interest in medicine stems from my desire to help those at a disadvantage obtain access to healthcare services that are as great as those who are more privileged.


  • What made you join MAPS?

Although I had an interest in medicine prior to college, I never explored that interest. So when I arrived at the U of R, I didn’t know much about the journey to medical school and to becoming a physician. When I heard of MAPS, I couldn’t think of a better organization to join. Each meeting I attended was very informative, always motivated me to want to become a doctor and showed me that this goal is possible to achieve.

  • Did you hold any eBoard positions while in MAPS? If so, what was that like for you? 

During the 2018-2019 school year, I was the secretary for MAPS. It was great being able to work with such intelligent, creative-minded individuals and to be involved in making decision about events that make MAPS as great as it is.

  • How did MAPS help and or shape you/ the decisions you went on to making?

With the different events that MAPS does throughout the school year, I was able to learn so much about the different paths I can take to becoming a physician and learn that everyone works at their own pace and own time. When I was finally able to fully grasp this, it made becoming a physician seem less daunting and more feasible. I am currently in my first of two gap years and I don’t regret taking the time off.

  • If you can give any piece of advice to any of the undergraduate students of MAPS, what would it be?

I would tell them to not compare themselves to anyone else because their only competition is their own self. I sometimes get discouraged when I focus on the achievements of others because what I don’t realize is that I myself have achievements as well. My biggest obstacleduring undergrad was always telling myself I couldn’t do it. Once I learned to get out that mindset, many other things started to fall in place and the journey, although still difficult, became easier and much more possible.

  • What are some of the things you are doing now?

I am currently working as a care coordinator at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. I am also working towards living a healthier lifestyle in many aspects because it’s something I rarely focused on in college because I always felt like I didn’t have the time.

bottom of page